2015: Rule of law in the European Union

This year edition will be devoted to the principle of rule of law in the European Union – in different external and internal contexts. Seminar will be moderated by Prof. Christophe Hillion (University of Leiden), Prof. Franz Mayer (University of Bielefeld), dr Adam Bodnar (Warsaw University), Prof. Robert Grzeszczak (Warsaw University) and Prof. Mirosław Wyrzykowski (Warsaw University). Organization of the seminar is supported by Dr hab. Jakub Urbanik (Warsaw University).

Seminar meetings will take place in Room 209, Collegium Iuridicum I, ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 26/28.

Monday, 18 May 2015

15.00 – 15.15 Welcome and introduction of the seminar

Prof. Mirosław Wyrzykowski, Warsaw University

15.15 – 17.00 First session

Moderation: prof. Franz Mayer, University of Bielefeld

I want to break free – To be free people in Europe. Secession and succession in the European Union

Andres Molina Fernandez, Federico Maria Chiarello,

The road towards European integration seen through the spectrum of the Copenhagen Criteria – example of Moldova

Ada Maria Butnaru

17.00 – 17.15 Coffee break

17.15 – 19.00 Second session

Moderation: dr Adam Bodnar, Warsaw University

The supremacy of EU law and its effectiveness in legal national system, is a myth or a reality?

Wafa Kernou

Principle of ne bis in idem under the EU law and the ECtHR

Raquel Ramirez Sanchez, Paula Vega Ruiz

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

9.00 – 10.45 – Third session

Moderation: Prof. Christophe Hillion, University of Leiden

Anti-terrorist measures vis-a-vis rule of law principles (saga of Kadi cases, Hamas v. Council)

Joanna Mazur, Antoni Napieralski

Whistleblower Protection as Part of the Rule of Law in European Countries

Adam Jankowski

10.45 – 11.00 Coffee break

11.00 – 12.45 – Fourth session

Moderation: prof. Robert Grzeszczak, Warsaw University

Investor-state dispute settlement in the TTIP – the rule of law or the rule of lawyers?

Marek Szolc

The mechanism of exit from the Eurozone

Alessio Amico

12.45 – 13.00 Closing of the seminar

prof. Mirosław Wyrzykowski